Tags

, , , , ,

Rye Flour Finger Rusks

Being South African, rusks are an integral part of my life. I wake up every morning with freshly brewed filter coffee and a rusk to dunk. My favourite have a whole lot of nuts and seeds and texture. When my oldest wanted to join in the morning ritual, I had to make a plan as he is intolerant to a few of the ingredients in mine. It was then that a friend introduced me to a local recipe book specifically for people with food allergies and intolerances. The book is called ‘South African cookbook for allergies and food intolerances’. It is available in English and Afrikaans. This recipe is from there with a minor change. They are similar in taste to finger biscuits. Ideal for young children as they are less likely to choke on some nut or seed. So, without further ado, here is the recipe.

Rye Flour Finger Rusks

Ingredients

3 eggs, separated
80g brown sugar (can use white)
25ml oil (I use canola but have used olive oil and will probably use melted coconut oil in the future)
75ml water
25ml honey (can substitute with syrup or molasses)
pinch salt
100g rye flour (200ml)

Method

Preheat oven to 160˚C.
Grease and line a swiss roll tray with baking paper
Whisk the egg whites until stiff. Add the sugar gradually to form a stiff meringue.
Add the egg yolks gradually, while beating at a low speed.
Mix oil, water and honey. Add to the egg mixture, while beating at a low speed.
Sift salt and flour together. Add to the egg mixture in 3 parts, still beating at a low speed.
Pour batter into the baking tray and smooth the surface.
Bake for 40-45 minutes, until golden brown and firm to the touch. Allow to cool in baking tray.
Cut into 3 strips and then into fingers.
Dry in the oven at 80-90˚C for approximately 4-5 hours.

I have a large rusk pan and triple this recipe to make 75 rusks. If I’m going to all this effort, I need to make a big batch.

This recipe can also be used as a pie case. Don’t dry it out in the oven then!

I’m off to enjoy a cup of tea and work on a seed and nut rusk recipe. Let me know what your favourite rusk is…

 

